Block third-party trackers with SafeBrowse
The internet can be a great source of entertainment where you can get the latest news, play fun games and watch captivating videos. If only it weren't for these pesky third-party trackers that follow your every move online to collect data about you and later bombard you with annoying ads.
Meet— Atlas VPN's newest feature that gives you an even safer and more private online experience.
What is SafeBrowse?
While a VPN does a great job at safeguarding your online security and privacy by encrypting your internet traffic wherever you go online, it doesn't protect you from trackers. That's why we introduced the SafeBrowse feature. It prevents data brokers from using third-party trackers to gather insights about your online activities, which data brokers then sell to companies and advertisers. It also stops you from entering dangerous websites and blocks malign ads so you can feel safe while surfing the web.
Currently, this feature is available for Premium Atlas VPN users in, , , and apps.
How to use SafeBrowse?
Like any other Atlas VPN feature, we've designed it to be easy to use for both advanced users and beginners. To enable SafeBrowse on your device, follow these simple steps:
Step 1. Navigate to the Assistant section of your app.
Step 2. Select SafeBrowse.
Step 3. A popup will appear highlighting the main features of SafeBrowse. To continue, click Explore SafeBrowse.
Step 4. You will see all the trackers detected on your device in the top left corner. You can also view the detailed list of trackers on the same page, including the exact time they were detected and their hostname.
Step 5. To start blocking trackers slide the toggle switch to the right of Block Trackers. Make sure the VPN is on.
Step 6. You're done! All trackers you encounter while browsing the internet from now on will be blocked. Click Done to continue.
Step 7. Once enabled, you will see the total number of blocked trackers in the top right corner of the page. You can also view a detailed list of trackers, including their hostname and the exact time they were blocked.
Step 8. You can sort the trackers by the most recently blocked or the most frequently blocked by switching between Recent and Most common tabs. The feature can be disabled at any time.
Have a safe online journey!